Radial pressure wave · different drive mechanisms

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs Zimmer enPuls 2.0

Pneumatic against compressor-free radial shockwave. Sourced energy, frequency and handpiece specifications, price signals, and the FDA records located for each machine.

radial shockwave therapy machine · compressor-free radial shockwaveSpecifications verified

The decision in plain English

What you are actually comparing

Both machines deliver a radial pressure wave, so both put their peak energy at the applicator surface. What differs is how the projectile gets moving: the Intelect RPW2 uses a pneumatic compressor, the Zimmer enPuls 2.0 uses an electromagnetic drive with no compressor at all.

That single design decision drives most of the practical difference between them. A compressor adds mass, noise and a maintenance item; removing it produces a 6 lb handpiece-led system. What you give up in exchange is the transmitter breadth a pneumatic platform carries, and — on the evidence available — any published price at all.

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 vs Zimmer enPuls 2.0 · sourced specificationsSpecifications verified
SpecificationChattanooga Intelect RPW2Zimmer enPuls 2.0 / Pro
ModalityRadial pressure wave, pneumaticSource [1]Compressor-free electromagnetic ballistic radialSource [3]
Energy rangeExtended pressure rangeSource [1]60–185 mJSource [3]
Frequency rangeNot stated in the sources reviewed1–22 HzSource [3]
Transmitters and handpiecesD20-S and Ro40 D-Actor transmitters, V-ACTOR HFSource [1]Not stated in the sources reviewed
Handpiece life and warrantyNot stated in the sources reviewed2 million-pulse handpiece warrantySource [3]
WeightNot stated in the sources reviewedenPuls 2.0 weighs 6 lbSource [3]
Penetration depthNot stated in the sources reviewedNot stated in the sources reviewed
Priced accessoriesFalcon handpiece revision kit $1,200; nine-transmitter set $7,400Source [1]Not stated in the sources reviewed
Purchase price signal$18,775.52 purchase estimateSource [1]Pricing on requestSource [3]
Monthly lease signal$427 per month estimateSource [1]Pricing on requestSource [3]
FDA record locatedDJO establishment and device listing only. No model-specific clearance.Source [2]None located.Source [3]

What the gaps mean: Neither machine has a device-specific FDA clearance in the records we could locate, and neither manufacturer publishes a penetration depth. Those two gaps belong at the top of your diligence list for both vendors, not just the one you are less inclined to buy.

FDA regulatory status

Three different things get collapsed into the phrase “FDA approved”, and only one of them is approval. Each entry below names the exact record type and number found, and the indication exactly as the record words it. A record is specific to one model, one configuration and one indication; it never travels to another product.

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2

No model-specific FDA clearance was located. What exists is a DJO establishment and device listing, which registers the facility and the device type. A listing is not a clearance and carries no indication.

Establishment listing
Listing only. Not a model-specific clearance and carries no indication.FDA database entrySource [2]

Zimmer enPuls 2.0 / Pro

No device-specific 510(k) or PMA number was located for enPuls 2.0 or enPuls Pro. Request the current clearance number and the IFU directly before quoting anything.

No record located for this device.

Editorial judgment, not specification data

Which machine fits which practice

Everything above this point is sourced data. Everything in these cards is our opinion, and we sell some of the machines being judged. Read them as a starting point for your own diligence, not as a finding.

Fixed treatment rooms with a broad condition mix

Chattanooga Intelect RPW2

Choose the RPW2 if the machine stays in one room, you want transmitter breadth on day one, and you need a published number to build a budget against.

Because it is the only machine in the table above with a purchase estimate, a monthly estimate and priced accessories — including a nine-transmitter set at $7,400 — rather than a quote process.

View the Intelect RPW2

Clinics moving the machine, and buyers who want a stated handpiece warranty

Zimmer enPuls 2.0

Choose the enPuls 2.0 if weight and setup time genuinely decide the purchase, or if you want the handpiece service commitment written into the warranty rather than priced as a revision kit.

Because it is the only device here publishing a 6 lb chassis, a 1 to 22 Hz frequency range and a 2 million-pulse handpiece warranty — where the RPW2's equivalent figures are not stated in the sources reviewed.

Lease and purchase estimates

Zimmer enPuls 2.0 / Pro

Pricing on request. This machine was quote-only everywhere we checked, so we publish no estimate for it.

Shockwave Source does not sell or lease this machine. Request pricing from its manufacturer directly.

Every monthly figure on this site is an estimate. Contract length, APR and buyout are confirmed at quote, not on this page.

Five questions to ask any vendor, including us

Take this list to every quote you receive. If a vendor will not answer all five in writing, that is itself an answer.

  1. The exact model, revision, and which accessories are included at that price.
  2. Contract term, APR, total payments, and the buyout option at the end.
  3. Handpiece and consumable life, and what a replacement costs.
  4. Warranty coverage and US service turnaround time.
  5. The exact FDA clearance number and the current labelling for the configuration being quoted.

Questions buyers actually ask

Is the Zimmer enPuls 2.0 FDA cleared?

No device-specific 510(k) or PMA number was located for enPuls 2.0 or enPuls Pro. That does not mean no record exists — it means we could not find one in the material reviewed. Ask Zimmer for the current clearance number and the instructions for use before you rely on any regulatory claim.

What does compressor-free mean on a radial shockwave machine?

A conventional radial device uses compressed air to accelerate a projectile against a transmitter. A compressor-free system such as the enPuls 2.0 uses an electromagnetic drive instead. Removing the compressor removes mass, noise and a maintenance item, which is how Zimmer reaches a 6 lb chassis on the enPuls 2.0.

How much does the Zimmer enPuls 2.0 cost?

Zimmer does not publish a price. The enPuls 2.0 and enPuls Pro were quote-only everywhere we checked, so we publish no estimate for them rather than guessing. The Chattanooga Intelect RPW2, by comparison, carries a published purchase estimate of $18,775.52 and a lease estimate of $427 per month.

Which radial shockwave machine is lighter?

The Zimmer enPuls 2.0, at a published 6 lb. Chattanooga does not publish a weight for the Intelect RPW2 in the material reviewed, describing it only as one of the most compact clinical units available. If weight is a deciding specification, request the RPW2 figure in writing before you commit.

Does Shockwave Source sell Zimmer machines?

No. Shockwave Source sells and leases the Chattanooga Intelect RPW2 and has a commercial interest in it. The Zimmer enPuls 2.0 and enPuls Pro are compared here independently — we do not sell, lease or represent them, and we have no affiliation with Zimmer MedizinSysteme.

You read the whole comparison

Talk it through with someone who will show you the paperwork

Bring the diligence checklist above to the call. We will answer all five questions for the machines we sell, in writing, including the ones where our answer is weaker than a competitor's.

Every monthly figure on this site is an estimate. Contract length, APR and buyout are confirmed at quote, not on this page.

Request a consultation

Sources

Specifications on this page were verified on . Entries marked carried forward were not re-fetched during that pass and date from the earlier research round; treat them as older than the live entries.

  1. Shockwave SourceProduct catalogue and displayed purchase and lease estimateshttps://www.shockwavesource.com/products/Checked liveVerified
  2. FDA CDRHRegistration and device listing database (DJO / Enovis)https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfRL/rl.cfmCarried forwardVerified
  3. Zimmer MedizinSysteme USAenPuls 2.0 and enPuls Pro product documentationhttps://www.zimmerusa.com/Carried forwardVerified